Short Grain Judges Announced

This year’s Short Grain judges are Paul Vermeersch for poetry and Greg Hollingshead for fiction.

Paul Vermeersch

Vermeersch is a poet, artist, editor, and is the author of several poetry collections, including the Trillium–award nominated The Reinvention of the Human Hand and Don't Let It End Like This Tell Them I Said Something. He holds an MFA in creative writing from the University of Guelph for which he received the Governor General's Gold Medal. His poems have been translated into Polish, German and French and have appeared in international anthologies. He currently teaches creative writing at the University of Toronto's School of Continuing Studies. He was, from 2001 to 2012, the Poetry Editor for Insomniac Press, and he is now Senior Editor for Wolsak & Wynn Publishers Ltd.

Greg Hollingshead

Hollingshead has published three novels and three story collections, with a fourth collection, Act Normal, to be published in August 2015. In 1995 his third story collection, The Roaring Girl, won the Governor General’s Award for Fiction. In 1998 his novel The Healer won the Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize and was shortlisted for the Giller Prize. His 2004 novel Bedlam was longlisted for the IMPAC Dublin Literary Award and was a Globe and Mail 100 Best Books of the Year and a New York Times Book Review Editor’s Choice for 2006. In 2007 Greg was awarded the Lieutenant Governor of Alberta Gold Medal for Excellence in the Arts and in 2012 the Order of Canada and the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal. In 2011-12 he served as Chair of the Writers’ Union of Canada. He is Professor emeritus at the University of Alberta and the director of the Writing Studio at the Banff Centre.