Grain Really Does Publish the Best of the Best

Grain really does publish the best of the best. Recent shortlists for both the Manitoba Book Awards and the Saskatchewan Book Awards feature writers well known to our readers.

Méira cook, our poetry judge for the Short Grain Writing Contest, has been shortlisted in the McNally Robinson Book of the Year and the Margaret Laurence Award for Fiction categories for her novel The House on Sugarbush Road.

Our in-house haiku astrologist, Jonathan Ball, received a nomination for the Aqua Books Lansdowne Prize for Poetry for his book The Politics of Knives.

Also present on the Manitoba Book Awards shortlist are Grain alumni David Bergen, Sarah Klassen, Annette Lapointe and Naomi K. Lewis.

Dave Margoshes, who according to our records has appeared in Grain twenty times, appears four times on theSaskatchewan Book Awards shortlist, honoured for his most recent work, A Book of Great Worth. Jeanette Lynes, who has been included in Grain's pages a half-dozen times, is nominated twice for her book of poetry Archive of the Undressed.

Donald Ward, Séan Virgo, Sandy Bonny, Brenda Schmidt, Barbara Sapergia, Beverley Brenna and Beth Goobie, who have all published in Grain, have also been nominated for this year's Saskatchewan Book Awards.

Congratulations and good luck to all!


Elan Morgan

Elan Morgan is a writer and web designer who works through Elan.Works and is a designer and content editor at GenderAvenger. They have been seen in the Globe & Mail, Best Health, Woman's Day, and Flow magazines and at TEDxRegina and on CBC News and Radio. They believe in and work to grow both personal and professional quality, genuine community, and meaningful content online.