24th Annual Short Grain (with Variations) Contest Winners!

Judges for the 24th Annual Short Grain contest were Lawrence Hill, Fiction, and rob mclennan, Poetry. Winning entries and judges’ comments will be published in Grain’s Winter 2013 issue, Vol 40 No 2. The deadline was April 2, 2012.

Congratulations to the winners!


judged by Lawrence Hill

1st Prize, $1000 — Susan Mersereau of Vancouver, BC
2nd Prize, $750 — Madeline Sonik of Victoria, BC
3rd Prize, $500 — Alexandra Sadinoff of New York, NY


judged by rob mclennan

1st Prize, $1000 — Sean Howard of Main-à-Dieu, NS
2nd Prize, $750 — Jordan Abel of Vancouver, BC
3rd Prize, $500 — Kate Flaherty of Toronto, ON


Elan Morgan

Elan Morgan is a writer and web designer who works through Elan.Works and is a designer and content editor at GenderAvenger. They have been seen in the Globe & Mail, Best Health, Woman's Day, and Flow magazines and at TEDxRegina and on CBC News and Radio. They believe in and work to grow both personal and professional quality, genuine community, and meaningful content online.