Pushcart Prize Nominees

We published so much exciting new work this year, which made choosing our Pushcart Prize nominees a difficult job—thank you to all of our amazing 2018 contributors! We’re thrilled to announce our nominees:


“Ritual Prayer” by D.A. Lockhart (Vol. 45.2, Winter 2018)

“My Apologies to the Sparrow” by Amos Jasper Wright IV (Vol. 45.3, Spring 2018)

“Sometimes my father is in my nightmares” by Kai Conradi (Vol. 46.1, Fall 2018)


“The Blood They Lose” by Sheri Benning (Vol. 45.3, Spring 2018)

“The Departed” by Sharon Butala (Vol. 45.3, Spring 2018)


“Varieties of Accident” by Leona Theis (Vol. 45.4, Summer 2018)—read the full essay here!

Indigenous Writers and Storytellers Issue

Grain is excited to announce a special issue dedicated to the work of Indigenous writers and storytellers, coming Summer 2019! 

Submissions are now open! We invite submissions of unpublished fiction, nonfiction, and poetry from all First Nations, Métis, and Inuit writers. This special issue is being guest edited by Lisa Bird-Wilson (fiction and nonfiction) and Tenille Campbell (poetry). The guest editors encourage submission of exciting, edgy, engaging (all the e’s) contemporary fiction, nonfiction, and poetry that reflect Indigenous lives, concerns, moments, thoughts, dreams, and so on. Whatever you do, don’t play it safe. Be brave! Surprise us!  

Deadline: February 28, 2019.

Fall Issue & Inaugural Grain Newsletter

Did you receive our inaugural Grain newsletter in your inbox this morning? If not, check it out (and subscribe for future newsletters) here!

Our Fall newsletter features a preview of our new issue, a Q&A with the 2018 Short Grain Contest winners—Francine Cunningham, Francene Gillis, Nicole Lachat, Annick MacAskill, Ted McInnis, and Lauren Turner—and a glimpse into the work of our Fall issue artist, Rebecca Perehudoff!

Our Fall issue is available now—buy a copy or subscribe today to save 37% off the newsstand price!

Submissions are now open!

Submissions for poetry and creative nonfiction open TODAY! Please see submission guidelines here

Fiction submissions will remain closed until December 1st. Due to various circumstances (staffing changes, increased submissions) we’ve accumulated a backlog of fiction submissions; therefore, our response times for fiction have been longer than usual. We apologize for the delay, but know we are working hard to catch up. Our aim is to have shorter turnaround times in the future. Your patience in this process is appreciated.

2018 Short Grain Winners Announced!

We're very excited to announce the winners of the 30th annual Short Grain Contest!

We'd like to thank Cheryl and Henry Kloppenburg for their ongoing support, which has enabled us to continue to hold this contest.

We'd also like to thank our 2018 judges, Canisia Lubrin (poetry) and Rawi Hage (fiction), for their attentive reading and expertise in choosing this year's winners. 


First place: “Starting a Religion” by Francine Cunningham
Second place: “Raymond’s Old Man” by Ted McInnis
Third place: “If Only” by Francene Gillis

Honourable mentions:
“The Death of Xavier” by Michael Holtzman
“Super Reader” by Bill Stenson


First place: “To the Men Who Would Have Killed Me” by Lauren Turner
Second place: “Not Enough Hallelujahs” by Nicole Lachat
Third place: “I felt a first communion in my brain” by Annick MacAskill

Honourable mentions:
“Arachnophobia” by Nolan Natasha Pike
“Letter to K from Žižkov” by Alison Braid 

The six winning entries will be published in the Fall issue of Grain.

Congratulations to all of the winners and honourable mentions! We look forward to receiving submissions for next year's contest.